The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I--
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

- Robert Frost

I liked this poem when I read it for the first time. It represents poet’s dilemma of choosing between two paths and contemplating the righteousness of one’s own decision. And I loved the ending so much.  “I took the one less traveled by and that has made all the difference”. My understanding of the poem was so straight forward. I always assumed that poet, in the end, finds his decision to be right and thinks that has changed his life forever.

Well you grow with time! I read this poem again after a long time and another thought came to my mind. The author has written it in a way that can be read both positively and negatively. The last line can also mean that the road/choice he made turned into total failure. He knew the choice he made was important and it was going to make huge difference in his life regardless of positive or negative outcome. It’s all about choice!! Who knew?!

On the side note, one of my favorite Harry Potter sentences about choices

“It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

(This website and its content is copyright of  © desaiprutha.wordpress.com. All rights reserved.)
